CRES logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CRES Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown

TL;DR
  • The 2026 CRES application fee is US$550 for RETA members and US$855 for non-members.
  • A discounted retest costs US$370 (members) or US$575 (non-members) within one year of the initial test.
  • Rescheduling inside the 96-hour deadline costs US$150, so confirm the exact cutoff with RETA first.
  • Passing the written exam is not the finish line: three approved energy-efficiency activities must follow within one year.

What This Cost Guide Covers (and What It Doesn't)

This article is about the Certified Refrigeration Energy Specialist credential issued by the Refrigerating Engineers & Technicians Association (RETA), and nothing else. Other credentials share the "CRES" acronym, and their fees, dates and exam formats have no bearing on what you will pay here. If you are still orienting yourself, start with What Is CRES Certification? or What Does CRES Stand For? before budgeting.

The figures below come from RETA's 2026 CRES Exam Information Handbook (Revision 06), which was reviewed and approved January 2, 2026, and is valid for examinations January 1 through December 31, 2026. Where a number could not be verified against current RETA documents, this guide says so rather than guessing. That applies most notably to the renewal fee.

The Official 2026 Fee Schedule

The cost structure is simple at the top level: one application fee covers your first written examination attempt, and the amount depends on whether you are a RETA member. Everything else is a contingency cost triggered by retakes, schedule changes or renewal.

Cost ItemRETA MemberNon-MemberNotes
Initial application feeUS$550US$855Approval and payment come before scheduling
Discounted first retestUS$370US$575Within one year of the initial test
Third attemptFull application fee appliesThe discount does not extend past the first retest
Rescheduling inside the 96-hour deadlineUS$150Handbook also describes the deadline as four business days; confirm with RETA
Renewal fee (every 3 years)Not reverifiedCheck RETA's renewal page for the current amount

Note the order of operations. Per the handbook, application approval and payment precede scheduling, and you arrange your examination through RETA staff rather than booking directly with a testing center. Testing is delivered through the Kryterion Testing Network (KTN) and RETA Network Testing Centers, so there is no separate per-seat fee to budget for at a third-party vendor beyond what RETA charges you.

Member vs. Non-Member: Running the Numbers

The gap between member and non-member pricing is US$305 on the initial application and US$205 on the discounted retest. The obvious question is whether RETA membership pays for itself. This guide does not state a membership dues amount because that figure is not part of the verified CRES facts here, so you will need to check RETA's current membership rates yourself.

What you can do is frame the decision correctly:

  • If dues are lower than US$305, joining before you apply is a straightforward saving on the initial fee alone.
  • If you might need a retest, the potential saving rises to US$510 combined (US$305 plus US$205), which strengthens the case for membership.
  • If your employer is paying, ask whether the company already holds membership benefits that extend to you, because that can change the math entirely.
Check before you pay: Confirm your membership status is active at the moment you submit the application. The member rate applies to the application you file, so a lapsed membership could mean paying the higher non-member fee. Verify with RETA staff before submitting payment.

Retest and Rescheduling Costs

Most candidates budget only for the first attempt. Given that the exam is a 135-question, three-hour written test, it is worth understanding how the retest rules affect your total exposure. For a realistic read on how demanding the exam is, see How Hard Is the CRES Exam? and CRES Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.

How the discounted retest works

  • The discounted retest (US$370 member, US$575 non-member) applies if taken within one year of the initial test.
  • You must wait at least two weeks between attempts.
  • An approved retest must be scheduled and completed within 90 days of approval and payment.
  • A third attempt requires the full application fee, so the discount is a one-time cushion, not a recurring one.

The 96-hour rescheduling trap

Rescheduling inside the handbook's 96-hour deadline incurs a US$150 charge. The handbook also describes that same deadline as four business days, and those two readings are not identical, especially around weekends and holidays. Do not assume which one governs. Ask RETA staff to state the exact cutoff for your specific exam date in writing before you book. A US$150 surprise is entirely avoidable.

Retest math: A member who fails once and retests within the discount window pays US$550 plus US$370, a total of US$920. A non-member in the same position pays US$855 plus US$575, a total of US$1,430. A third attempt adds another full application fee on top. Strong preparation is the cheapest cost control you have.

Costs Outside the Fee Schedule

RETA's fee schedule is only part of the real expense. The CRES exam has specific logistics that can generate indirect costs if you are not careful.

  • Identification: You need your candidate authorization code and two forms of identification, including government-issued photo identification. Make sure yours are current before exam day; an expired ID can cost you a rescheduling fee.
  • Calculator: A simple nonprinting calculator is permitted, and its memory must be cleared in front of the proctor. A basic model is inexpensive, but buy it early and practice with it.
  • Travel and time off: Because testing runs through KTN and RETA Network Testing Centers, your nearest site may require travel. The exam is three hours long, so plan for a half day at minimum, plus any transit time.
  • Study materials: Personal study guides are prohibited in the exam room. Selected electronic references are supplied on screen, so you are paying for prep materials only for use beforehand.

RETA's CRES Examination Study Guide (January 2023, Revision 4) is a supplemental source of sample questions and references. It is not a full official practice examination, so budget for additional practice if you want timed, full-length simulation. Our CRES practice tests are built for that purpose.

The Three Energy-Efficiency Activities: Cost Without Capital Projects

This is the part of the CRES cost picture that surprises people most. Passing the written exam does not by itself earn the credential. You must also have three documented energy-efficiency activities approved, with at least two producing direct savings, submitted through the RETA Certification Database within one year after passing. The three-hour exam timer does not apply to this practical component.

The good news for your budget: low- or no-cost operational improvements can qualify, and capital projects are not required. You are not obligated to fund a compressor replacement or a major retrofit to qualify. Examples of the kind of work that fits the spirit of the requirement include operational changes that reduce refrigeration energy waste, but verify eligibility details with RETA before you invest time or money in any specific activity.

Key Takeaway

Start documenting energy-efficiency work at your facility before you sit for the written exam. Your activity clock runs for one year after passing, and work you can credibly log from day-to-day operations costs little or nothing beyond your time.

One note on conflicting information: a generic RETA FAQ was previously reported to describe five initial activities. The credential-specific requirement in the 2026 handbook is three, and that is the figure to plan around. For the full eligibility picture, read CRES Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify. The published CRES requirements do not list another RETA credential as a prerequisite, which means you do not need to budget for a separate earlier certification.

Renewal Costs Every Three Years

CRES is not a one-time purchase. The certification renews every three years, and each cycle carries both a money cost and a time cost.

  • Two additional approved energy-efficiency activities, at least one producing direct savings
  • 24 professional development hours (PDHs) earned during the active certification cycle, including at least 12 in refrigeration operations and six in energy efficiency
  • An online renewal application
  • A renewal fee

The current numerical renewal fee was not reverified for this article, because the CRES renewal page was inaccessible when this was compiled. Do not rely on any figure you see quoted elsewhere without checking RETA's renewal page directly. The older 2023 renewal form is valid only for 2023 and should not be used as current authority for requirements or pricing.

Plan PDHs from day one: Twenty-four PDHs over three years sounds manageable, but the 12-hour refrigeration-operations and six-hour energy-efficiency minimums are specific. Log PDHs as you earn them rather than scrambling in year three. Training costs are a real line item; our overview of CRES training options can help you compare.

Where to Spend Prep Money by Exam Domain

If you are going to invest in preparation, align it with how the exam is actually weighted. RETA publishes question counts per domain rather than percentage weights, so the allocations below are raw counts, and no percentages are inferred. For deeper coverage, see CRES Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 5 Content Areas.

Domain 3: Refrigeration Best Practices (50 questions, the largest)

Instrumentation, calibration, controls, design and sizing characteristics, defrost cycles and refrigeration loads. This domain carries more questions than any other, so it is where paid practice and reference review return the most value.

  • Prioritize defrost cycle logic and load calculations
  • Practice reading generic refrigeration operating screens

Domain 1: Refrigeration System Concepts (29 questions)

Components and functions in safe operations, including performance, measurement, Process Safety Management (PSM) and Risk Management (RM).

  • Review the ammonia SDS and saturated properties tables in the study guide

Domain 5: Facility Energy Management (22 questions)

Setting and monitoring key performance indicators, measurement to improve energy efficiency, and creating incentives and opportunities to improve energy efficiency.

Domain 2: Energy Efficiency Basics (20 questions)

Concepts, calculations, conversions, efficiency opportunities, measuring and tracking energy use, and energy mapping.

Domain 4: Non-Refrigeration System Energy Use (14 questions)

Lighting, compressed air and pumps. Note that the study guide's Lighting section is expressly unavailable as an on-screen reference during the exam, so lighting knowledge must come from your own preparation.

The study guide's eleven headings, including Calculations and Refrigeration System Screens, Formulas, the CRES References Sheet, CRES Screens 1 to 24, and the Ammonia and Halocarbon property tables, are unweighted preparation and reference sections. They are not eleven exam domains. For a structured plan, our CRES Study Guide 2026 and CRES Cheat Sheet pair well with the free RETA material.

Three Budget Scenarios

These scenarios use only the verified fees above and exclude travel, study materials and the unverified renewal fee.

ScenarioMember TotalNon-Member Total
Pass on first attemptUS$550US$855
Fail once, discounted retest, passUS$920US$1,430
First attempt with one late reschedule (US$150)US$700US$1,005
Fail twice, pay full fee for third attempt (before any reschedule)US$1,470US$2,285

The fourth row sums the initial fee, the discounted retest and a second full application fee: US$550 + US$370 + US$550 for members, and US$855 + US$575 + US$855 for non-members. The spread between the best and worst cases is large enough that realistic preparation, including full-length timed practice, is effectively a cost-reduction strategy. If you are weighing whether the outlay is justified at all, see Is the CRES Certification Worth It? and the CRES Salary Guide 2026.

Application Expiry and Timing Risk

Money spent on an application can be wasted if you let it lapse. Applications expire one year after payment, though a 90-day extension may be requested before expiration. The retest window adds a second clock: an approved retest must be scheduled and completed within 90 days of approval and payment.

Weeks 1-3

Domain 3 first

  • Refrigeration Best Practices carries 50 questions, so it earns the earliest and longest block
  • Work through the study guide's sample system screens
Weeks 4-5

Domains 1 and 5

  • Safe operations, PSM/RM and KPI-driven energy management
Week 6

Domains 2 and 4, then timed practice

  • Energy calculations, conversions, lighting, compressed air and pumps
  • Take a full 135-question, three-hour simulation before booking through RETA staff

Do not pay your application fee until your preparation timeline lets you test well inside the one-year window. Check CRES Exam Dates 2026 for testing windows and scheduling details, and review CRES Passing Score 2026 to understand the scaled-score standard before you commit. Note that the specifications call for a scaled score of 70 or higher while the requirements section mentions 70%, and a scaled score should not be assumed to equal a raw percentage.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does the CRES exam cost in 2026?

The application fee is US$550 for RETA members and US$855 for non-members. This covers your first written examination attempt. Retests, rescheduling inside the deadline and renewal carry additional charges.

What does a CRES retest cost?

A first retest within one year of the initial test is discounted to US$370 for members and US$575 for non-members. You must wait at least two weeks between attempts, and a third attempt requires the full application fee.

Do I have to complete expensive capital projects to earn CRES?

No. You need three approved energy-efficiency activities, at least two producing direct savings, submitted within one year after passing. Low- or no-cost operational improvements can qualify, and capital projects are not required.

What is the CRES renewal fee?

The current numerical renewal fee could not be reverified, so this guide does not state one. Renewal happens every three years and also requires 24 PDHs and two additional approved energy-efficiency activities. Check RETA's renewal page for the current amount.

Can I book my exam directly with a testing center?

No. Application approval and payment come first, and you arrange the examination through RETA staff rather than directly with a testing center. Testing uses the Kryterion Testing Network and RETA Network Testing Centers.

For a complete overview of how the credential fits into a career, explore CRES jobs and then put your preparation to work with our free CRES practice questions.

Ready to pass your CRES exam?

Put this into practice with free CRES questions across every exam domain.